Six More Names Headed to Cooperstown

The Baseball Hall of Fame is one of the greatest honors in all of sports. This honor is one that players dream of since a young age but the gatekeepers have prevented many from entering as they do not seem to grasp the full impact players made during their playing careers. Sunday evening, a small group of voter chose six new members to be included in the National Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2022.

Of the six players, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso and Tony Oliva were elected by the Golden Era Committee. This committee consisted of Hall of Famers, Major League executives, and veterans in the media as well as historians of the game. They include Rod Carew, Fergie Jenkins, Mike Schmidt, John Schuerholz, Bud Selig, Ozzie Smith, Joe Torre, Al Avila, Bill DeWitt, Ken Kendrick, Kim Ng, Tony Reagins, Adrian Burgos Jr., Steve Hirdt, Jaime Jarrin and Jack O’Connell. 

Buck O’Neill and Bud Fowler were elected by the Early Baseball Era Committee voters. Much like the Golden Days Era, the Early Baseball Era Committee consisted of Hall of Famers, execs, media and historians. They included Bert Blyleven, Jenkins, Schuerholz, Smith, Torre, DeWitt, Kendrick, Reagins, Gary Ashwill, Burgos, Leslie Heaphy, Jim Henneman, Justice B. Hill, Hirdt, Rick Hummel and John Thorn.

From To be selected Sunday, a candidate had to appear on at least 75 percent (12 votes) of ballots cast by the 16-member committees.

Both the Early Baseball Era and the Golden Era committees met for the first time this weekend. The Early Baseball Era look at players pre-1950 while the Golden Era looks at players from 1950-1969.

The voter all met in Orlando, Florida to make their selections. These six players, as well as any of the players selected by the BBWAA will be inducted to the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York on July 24, 2022.

New Hall of Famers

  • Gil Hodges
  • Jim Kaat
  • Minnie Miñoso
  • Tony Oliva
  • Buck O’Neil

No one greater than Negro Leagues Baseball Museum president Bob Kendrick to share information on the late, great Buck O’Neil.

  • Bud Fowler

Final Note

The rest of the 2022 Class which is voted upon by the Baseball Writer’s Association of America will be shared January 25, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close